top of page

Inkatha Freedom Party

Serving in the spirit of Ubuntu.

President: Velenkosi Hlabisa

Deputy President: Hon. Inkosi Mzamo Buthelezi




A just society is one which is fair, which has successfully addressed the challenges of our past – and, unfortunately, even the present. These include: limited access to basic services, sustainable jobs, quality education, adequate healthcare, and security. A just society also results in freedom and equality for all before the law, irrespective of who you are and where you come from.


A prosperous society is one in which mass poverty has been eradicated and in which our people are able to pursue a better life. It is a society where everyone is able to develop to his or her fullest human potential. A prosperous society provides opportunity for all; it also generates high-quality services and contributes towards stability and unity.


A moral society is one governed by the timeless moral precepts of good, unlike the socio-political climate in South Africa today, which comes close to being characterised by fear, violence, crime, greed and corruption. We believe in a society based on strong family and strong community. There is a contrast between some amoral leaders and elites and the essential goodness of most South Africans – we believe everyone has a role to play in making South Africa a better place.


A society underpinned by the spirit of ubuntu/botho must necessarily promote justice and prosperity, and morality for all. We believe such a society is a distinct possibility, and is not merely a dream. We believe that our values of solidarity, freedom, and unity in diversity, and our principles and policies, coupled with bold leadership and political courage, can achieve this vision.


The IFP has three key values. These are: Solidarity, Freedom, and Unity in Diversity. They are all interconnected. Each is associated with other, secondary values.



In our service to the people, the IFP will stand by those affected by poverty, unemployment, abuse, crime, violence, discrimination and other social ills. South Africa has an enormous number of people who, left to the exigencies of the market or a minimalist state, would suffer even more severe depredations than those that fate has bestowed upon them. The IFP will not stand aloof as our people suffer, but will work with them, providing assistance as an expression of compassion and fraternity.



We seek a South Africa in which the potential of every person to live a dignified life can be realised, with integrity, within a democratic environment. Internally, we believe everyone has the right to participate in party affairs and to advance themselves – so long as their activities are premised on integrity. Everyone within the Party has the right to speak and to be heard, to be treated with dignity, and to stand for any office. We embrace internal democracy, transparency and accountability. On the national stage, we stand for a constitutional state in which individual rights are protected against intrusive government, in which the poor and vulnerable are assisted, and in which the autonomy of civil society is not infringed upon.



We embrace our differences and reject the notion that we are all the same. We are all equal under the law, of course, but South Africa is nonetheless made up of many different cultures, groups, races, religions, communities and peoples. None of these is more important than any other, although we do embrace Christian and other faith-based values. The IFP welcomes all into our fold. We are inclusive, we promote multiculturalism and we encourage the sharing of power among our constituents. The IFP is a home for all South Africans subscribing to our values and policies. Everyone is welcome to join us in our great quest to make South Africa a better country.


These values reflect who we are in that they guide our conduct as a political party. They equally reflect what we aspire to for the country as a whole.


Other Leadership:


The late Honourable President Emiritus - Prince Mangosuthu Buthelezi MP

National Chairperson - Hon. Blessed Gwala

Deputy National Chairperson - Hon. TP Madlopha-Mthethwa

Secretary General - Hon. Siphosethu Ngcobo

Deputy Secretary General - HW Cllr Albert Mncwango

Treasurer General - Hon. Narend Singh

National Chair: Women’s Brigade - Hon. Princess Phumzile Buthelezi

Acting Chair: Youth Brigade - Hon. Sanele Sethembeni Zondo

Chief Operations Officer - Dr Albert Mokoena

National Spokesperson - Hon. Mkhuleko Hlengwa

For more information please visit

bottom of page